Spotlight on our New 2024 Committee Members

Meet our new committee members!

Aurora Segnan, Events Officer

Hi! I’m Aurora and I’ve been working for the past 2+ years for Maryhill Burgh Halls Trust, a small charity in the North West of Glasgow that looks after the historic building of its name and makes arts and heritage accessible for the local community. I’ve been working behind the scenes as admin and volunteer coordinator, I’ve been supporting community events, exhibitions and the heritage programme, and I put together my very first exhibition: ‘STRIKE! Stories of Bryant & May’.

I’m an Aberdeen alumna and hold a PGDip in Art History: Collecting and Provenance from the University of Glasgow. Originally from Italy, I’ve been calling Scotland my home for the last 8 years. I strongly believe in SMF’s cause to create connections and development opportunities within the Scottish museum sector, and events are a crucial activity to make this possible.

I’m a resourceful and passionate individual with experience in events coordination at the historic Maryhill Burgh Halls. I have been planning Doors Open Days activities, community days, and exhibition openings/closings for the last two years, creating connections and partnerships with external organisations. 

As a founding member of the Scottish branch of the Emerging Museum Professionals group and coming from a tiny organisation, I’m particularly passionate about creating opportunities to learn from each other, and to branch out whether it’s in the form of a talk, conference, site visit or guided tour of a wonderful museum.

Twitter: @aurorasmuseum

Marisa Kate Henthorn, Student Member
University of Aberdeen

I have been interested in working in the museum sector since I was doing my undergradate degree in Art History and have been steadily working my way towards a career in museums since then. I have a master’s in Art History and Archaeology, with a focus in Egyptology and feminist interpretations in the ancient past. I am also very interested in the intersections of fandom/pop culture and art history/museums. I have experience in the museum sector, working as an intern at the Metropolitan Museum of Art for a semester. I am currently working towards a master’s in Museum Studies at the University of Aberdeen. I hope to gain more understanding of the professional museum sector and be supportive in my position as a student member of the SMF!

Instagram: @themagnificientmarisa

Autumn Pinto, Student Member
University of Aberdeen

Hi everyone! My name is Autumn. I am a Canadian international student at the University of Aberdeen, pursuing my master’s in Museum Studies. Previously, I have worked as a Collections Assistant at the Seven Oaks House Museum and volunteered at multiple heritage organizations including the Winnipeg Art Gallery and the Cambridge Archaeological Unit. I am passionate about museum decolonization/Indigenization, and my favourite part of a museum is the stores room. I am thrilled to be serving on the SMF Committee this year and look forward to getting to know people in the sector.

Rebekah Mackinnon, Student Member
University of Glasgow


Hello, my name is Rebekah and I have just started my Museum Studies masters at the University of Glasgow. My personal interest in museums began as a child, when me and my dad explored together finding out about our community in the Isle of Harris to the world beyond. Whilst growing up there, I helped organise different small community events including BBC Gaelic film nights to a small concert featuring Peat and Diesel. This encouraged me to pursue my degree in History and Literature with UHI in Inverness. I created my own book club society, “Fiction Addiction”, organising meetings and events ranging from bingo to open poetry mic nights. I then independently organised meet-ups for History students whilst being a student representative. My interests in museums were ultimately catalysed when I worked with the Culloden Battlefield Visitor Museum where I got to understand why others visit museums and how organisations facilitate this effectively. Overall, I am a dedicated, energetic, and passionate candidate who is looking forward to bringing new ideas as a student to create an early careers member event and foster a new future of community museum workers.

Twitter: @RebeMackinnon

Amanda Lochrie, Student Member
University of Glasgow

Hi, I am Amanda and I am currently a MSc Museum Studies student at the University of Glasgow. I was funded by MGS for a year at the Tall Ship Glenlee as a Learning Assistant, where I took over the responsibilities of the Learning Manager while she worked on other projects. My responsibilities included arranging and facilitating learning bookings and learning events. I also arranged outreach, developed our holiday programmes, and created and facilitated my own session, Mini-Mariners, as well as a family quiz.

I am a mum of two and I have what are often described as “hidden disabilities.” I am incredibly passionate about accessibility and representation in the sector. My dissertation was focused on how Glasgow Museums approached issues of colonialism and representation.

After hearing Quonya (SMF President) speak about SMF at university, I was very interested in being part of such a diverse group, committed to positive change and growth in the museum sector.

Leave a comment