NMS Collections Centre Tour – Professional Development Fund Awardee

Caitlin Jamison recently went to have a tour around National Museums Scotland’s Collections Centre in Granton, with the aid of the SMF Professional Development Fund. Read on to hear about the experience in Caitlin’s own words!

There it was, sitting in my inbox. An email from the Scottish Museums Federation, asking for applications to the Professional Development Fund. I recently completed a master’s degree in Museum Studies, but I am always keen to keep learning. That being said, I juggle two jobs, family and friends across multiple time zones, and a very needy cat, so I missed submitting the application on time. Luck was on my side however and the deadline was pushed back. I was able to get my application in and was awarded £190 in August 2022 for a research trip to Edinburgh. 

Inside one of the many collections stores, featuring Pictish stones. 

In my role with the National Trust for Scotland (NTS), I am leading a project to set up a new collections and archives store within the walls of Drum Castle. Originally, I had planned to attend a ‘behind the scenes’ tour of National Museums Scotland’s Collections Centre in Granton, Edinburgh but, by the time it came time to book, the tour had sold out. Not ready to give up, I phoned NMS and was told to contact Chanté St Clair Inglis, Head of Collections Services. I sent a very polite email asking if she might spare a few minutes to discuss my project. Chanté emailed me back within minutes to set up a virtual meeting to see how she could help. It was great to be met with such enthusiasm when seeking help from other institutions.

I was invited to the Collections Centre to meet with Katie Haworth, Preventive Conservator, for a one-on-one tour of the facility and to discuss my project in person. Katie generously spent half a day with me, and we discussed the good, bad, and ugly of collections care and management. A particular highlight was learning how NMS creates bespoke object supports using Plastazote and entomological pins for safe long-term storage. I also enjoyed seeing best practice textile conservation and storage – rows upon rows of custom Tyvek covers over historic costumes, each with an ID picture and collection number – so organised! We also discussed how to create and maintain the ideal collections storage environment and protocols for ensuring these spaces stay pest-free. Katie gave me detailed instructions on how to apply these ideas and techniques to my own context and invited me to be in touch if I had any questions. 

Custom built object supports for safe long-term storage 

Historic costumes in their Tyvek covers

The support provided by SMF and the Professional Development Fund allowed me to gain knowledge directly applicable to my work with the NTS. I was also able to build professional relationships which I can rely on for help and advice in the future. I would advise all SMF members to have a go and apply, you never know where the next opportunity will lead you! 

Paintings ready to go on loan (R), archaeological specimens catalogued and stored (L)

Leave a comment